Wednesday, September 9, 2020

Waiting on Wednesday #183: Never Look Back by Lilliam Rivera and Vampires Never Get Old by Zoraida Cordova

 


Hello everyone! "Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, that is hosted by Breaking the Spine and the purpose of this event is that we spotlight upcoming releases of books that we are excited for!  This will also tie into Wishful Ending's Can't Wait Wednesday post!









This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selections are:




    

Never Look Back

By: Lilliam Rivera

Expected Publication Date: September 15th, 2020

Buy on:   Amazon


Featuring contemporary Afro-Latinx characters, acclaimed author Lilliam Rivera blends a touch of magical realism into a timely story about cultural identity, overcoming trauma, and the power of first love.

Eury comes to the Bronx as a girl haunted. Haunted by losing everything in Hurricane Maria--and by an evil spirit, Ato. She fully expects the tragedy that befell her and her family in Puerto Rico to catch up with her in New York. Yet, for a time, she can almost set this fear aside, because there's this boy . . .

Pheus is a golden-voiced, bachata-singing charmer, ready to spend the summer on the beach with his friends, serenading his on-again, off-again flame. That changes when he meets Eury. All he wants is to put a smile on her face and fight off her demons. But some dangers are too powerful for even the strongest love, and as the world threatens to tear them apart, Eury and Pheus must fight for each other and their lives.

This Own Voices retelling of the Greek myth Orpheus and Eurydice is perfect for fans of Ibi Zoboi's Pride and Daniel José Older's Shadowshaper.



While I never read the Greek myths Orpheus and Eurydice before, I'm still interested in this book because it has magic and it has an Afro-Latinx character which is rarely represented in young adult books!


Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository







Vampires Never Get Old

By: Samira Ahmed, Dhonielle Clayton, Tessa Gratton, Heidi Heilig, Julie Murphy, Mark Oshiro, Rebecca Roanhorse, Laura Ruby, V.E. Schwab and Kayla Whaley

Expected Publication Date: September 22nd, 2020

Buy on:  Amazon



Eleven fresh vampire stories from young adult fiction’s leading voices!

In this delicious new collection, you’ll find stories about lurking vampires of social media, rebellious vampires hungry for more than just blood, eager vampires coming out―and going out for their first kill―and other bold, breathtaking, dangerous, dreamy, eerie, iconic, powerful creatures of the night.

Welcome to the evolution of the vampire―and a revolution on the page.

Vampires Never Get Old includes stories by authors both bestselling and acclaimed, including Samira Ahmed, Dhonielle Clayton, Zoraida Córdova and Natalie C. Parker, Tessa Gratton, Heidi Heilig, Julie Murphy, Mark Oshiro, Rebecca Roanhorse, Laura Ruby, Victoria “V. E.” Schwab, and Kayla Whaley.


Yes!  A collection of vampire stories!  I love reading paranormal books and it's been awhile since I last read a book that dealt with vampires!  Can't wait to read this book soon!





Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository





So, what upcoming books are you looking forward to?  Please respond below!







💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕






💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕💕


12 comments:

  1. I'm curious about this new vampire anthology! You'd think I'd be all over it! Lol. I don't read too many anthologies these days, hence my curiosity! Hope you enjoy both of these once you get to them!


    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Great picks! Never Look Back particularly intrigued me. Wondering what the ending is like. Hope you enjoy them both!

    ReplyDelete
  3. You made me laugh with the "Vampires never get old" cover *lol* that made my day. Thank you for sharing.

    My pick

    ReplyDelete
  4. Great picks! I'm super excited for Vampires Never Get Old. Thanks for sharing! :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Now that looks like a fun anthology!

    ReplyDelete
  6. These are new to me, but they both look like great books.

    ReplyDelete