Thursday, February 28, 2019

[ARC REVIEW] Your Happy Heart: How Helping Others Helps You, Too by Amie Dean (@NCYI)







Title:  Your Happy Heart: How Helping Others Helps You, Too

Author:  Amie Dean

Artist:  Susan Keeter 

Genre:  Children's / Self Esteem 

Year Published: 2018

Year Read:  2019


Publisher: 
 National Center for Youth Issues

Source:  Physical Copy Received from Publisher

Content Rating:  Ages 4 + (Nothing Objectionable)




I would like to thank the National Center for Youth Issues for providing me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.



I just love reading books that are given to me by the National Center for Youth Issues since they are always publishing fantastic children’s books that deal with social issues that small children will have to face.  So, I just recently got my copy of “Your Happy Heart: How Helping Others Helps You, Too” by Amie Dean, along with artwork by Susan Keeter and this book was an absolute treat to read through!


Javon, a young boy who is in the fifth grade, is happy that he has been chosen to become a Book Buddy to a young kindergartner named Richard. But unfortunately, Richard seems to have problems communicating with Javon as Richard would not say anything to Javon and would just sit there and sulk.  It was then that Javon remembered how he acted when he used to be in Ms. Sammons’ class.  He also had trouble communicating with other kids and often hit them and Ms. Sammons had to put him in the Zen Zone to calm down.  So, Javon decided to use his past experiences to help connect more with Richard and even teach him about writing down some good things about himself on a piece of paper.

Will Javon be able to get through to Richard?

Read this book to find out!


Wow!  Another fantastic book from the National Center for Youth Issues!  Amie Dean has done a fantastic job at writing this book! I always enjoyed reading children’s books that help children try to deal with their anger issues and trying to find activities that would make them happy.  I loved the way that Amie Dean wrote Javon and Richard’s relationship with each other as it shows that Javon is willing to do whatever it takes to make Richard happy, while also finding out what made Richard so upset towards other people.  It shows how much Javon himself has matured as a person as he uses the experiences he had when he was in kindergarten in order to understand Richard better.  Susan Keeter’s artwork is gorgeous to look at as all the characters and backgrounds are so realistic.  However, even though I think that the characters’ eyes look a bit too big for their heads, the artwork overall really captures the inspiration that the characters give to each other.


This is a small nitpick, but I am curious about why Richard is so upset about talking to other people. The book does not really explain about why Richard is having a hard time talking to other people and what kind of problems he has at either home or at school that would make him so antisocial.  It would have been nice if the book had explained more about Richard’s situation and why he acts so antisocial since it would help children have a better understanding about Richard’s situation and how they can deal with their own anger issues.


Overall, “Your Happy Heart” is a truly amazing book about how to deal with anger issues and is definitely a book worth reading for young children!  I would recommend this book to children ages four and up since there is nothing inappropriate in this book.




 You might also like:















Wednesday, February 27, 2019

Waiting on Wednesday #122: Bloodleaf by Crystal Smith




Hello everyone! "Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, that is hosted by Breaking the Spine and the purpose of this event is that we spotlight upcoming releases of books that we are excited for!  This will also tie into Wishful Ending's Can't Wait Wednesday post!







This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:






Title:  Bloodleaf
Author:  Crystal Smith
Expected Publication Date:  March 5th, 2019



Perfect for fans of RED QUEEN and UPROOTED, Crystal Smith’s debut novel, BLOODLEAF, is an imaginative retelling of the Grimm Fairy tale “The Goose Girl” that takes a ghostly mystery and sets it inside an epic fantasy world.

Aurelia is the first princess born to the Renalten crown in two hundred years, destined to fulfill a treaty by journeying to marry Valentin, the prince of Achelva – Renalt’s greatest enemy. Rumors of an unwell, cruel prince abound, and the only thing that eclipses Aurelia’s apprehension of her impending marriage is her fear of those who’d kill her to prevent it.

When an assassination attempt forces Aurelia to use forbidden magic to save a stranger, she is driven from Renalt by the witch-hunting Tribunal and a mob out for blood. But before she can claim asylum in the court of her betrothed, her travel party turns on her, forcing her to trade places with her treacherous lady-in-waiting, Lisette.

Now penniless in Achleva and bereft of her identity, Aurelia must decide if she wants to surrender to her new life or fight for her old one, all while navigating the complicated ties binding her to the enigmatic prince, the unquiet ghost of an ancient queen, and a poisonous plant called bloodleaf.

Aurelia is a pawn in a centuries-long game of love, power, and war— and if she can’t extricate herself from it before Lisette marries Valentin in her stead, she may face losses far more devastating than her crown.

Oooh! A banished princess trying to claim her rightful place on the throne! Interesting


So, what upcoming books are you looking forward to?  Please respond below!

Sunday, February 24, 2019

The Sunday Post Meme (164)




Hey everybody! I am participating in a book meme called the Sunday Post which is being hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer!The goal of this meme is to share news you have  on various books and things you’ve read or received and also talk about what is coming up for your blog! Book hauls can include library books, yard sale finds, arcs and bought books and you can share these finds with other book bloggers!


Hey everyone! I can't believe that February is nearly over! I keep forgetting that February is like the shortest month of the year and that it tends to wrap quicker than most months!  Well, there are some things I'm planning on doing in March like going to a job fair. Keeping my fingers crossed that I actually get a good job so I could get caught up on my bills! It's such a pain dealing with bills!





Book Reviews
Miscellaneous

  

Book Photo Sundays Meme!

 

Looking for New Guest Posts! 

 

My TBR List!

 

  

Comic Book Bingo Challenge 2018 Sign Up! 



Cover Spotlight Meme






2018 Caldecott Medal Challenge Sign Up!



 







One Word: ENDING!!!








(NETFLIX)

* I'm rewatching this anime series again! I just love this series and it's great rewatching a favorite!




(NETFLIX)

* I'm finally watching this show again and now I'm into the fourth season!  The show is just as good as the early seasons!



 

What are you planning to do in March?



  Check out Paper Fury's post on Q&A WITH YOUR FAVOURITE (ME) ABOUT PUBLISHING THE BOY WHO STEALS HOUSES


☆ Check out Carole's Random Life's post on Books from the Backlog #48

★ Check out We Live and Breathe Books' post on Discussion: I LOVE Easter Eggs!




Well, that's the Sunday News for today and I will have more news for the various books I've read in the near future!



Posted on Sunday, February 24, 2019.

Book Photo Sundays #102: February 24, 2019



Hello everyone! Welcome to "Book Photo Sundays" where you get the chance to showcase photos of your books, bookshelves and book conventions you have gone to!  The goal of this book meme is to basically just post up a photo of the various books you have read or your book hauls on your blog and link back here so that way everyone can check out your wonderful book photos!  You can get your book photos through your Instagram, Tumblr, Twitter, Iphone or any other account where you can get your photos!





#bookphotosundays




So let's get started!

Also, this will be tied into the February Book Photo Sundays Bookstagram Challenge over at Instagram, so please feel free to check it out!



Hello everyone!  Welcome to another Book Photo Sundays! The first photo is of my complete "Dark Artifices" series written by Cassandra Clare and I'm so happy to finally get the complete series of this!  The second photo is of my collection of books written by Laini Taylor!