Wednesday, May 22, 2019

Waiting on Wednesday #134: Oath Taker by Audrey Grey




Hello everyone! "Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, that is hosted by Breaking the Spine and the purpose of this event is that we spotlight upcoming releases of books that we are excited for!  This will also tie into Wishful Ending's Can't Wait Wednesday post!







This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:






Title:  Oath Taker
Author:  Audrey Grey
Expected Publication Date:  May 23rd, 2019



Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Emily R. King, this first book in a dark and action-packed new series is impossible to put down! 

Light magic is forbidden.
Dark magic spells death.
Haven has both. 

​ 
After the Prince of Penryth saved her from captivity, seventeen-year-old Haven Ashwood spends her days protecting the kind prince and her nights secretly fighting the monsters outside the castle walls.  

When one of those monsters kidnaps Prince Bell, Haven must ally with Archeron Halfbane and his band of immortals to rescue her friend.  

Her quest takes her deep into the domain of a warped and vicious queen where the rules are simple: break her curse or die. 

Lost in a land of twisted magic and fabled creatures, Haven finds herself unprepared, not just for the feelings she develops for Archeron, but for the warring powers raging inside her.  

Her rare and forbidden type of magic may be their only hope . . . but mixing light and dark comes with a steep price.  

Haven’s soul. 

Faced with impossible love, heartbreaking betrayals, and a queen intent on destroying the realm, only one thing remains certain.  

Haven must shatter the curse or it will devour everything she loves.  

Welcome to the Kingdom of Runes where immortals and humans clash, light and dark magic reign, and mythical creatures lurk in the shadows. If you like fierce heroines, enemies-to-lovers romance, wild plot twists, and endearing characters that stay with you long after you reach the end, you need to discover the book readers are calling dark fantasy at its best. Just make sure to clear out some space on your calendar first! 
Oooh! This sounds like a medieval version of the "Lunar Chronicles" series! I can't wait to check this book out!


So, what upcoming books are you looking forward to?  Please respond below!








Tuesday, May 21, 2019

Bout of Books (25) Wrap Up!



Challenges
**This is the overall list for the challenges offered during Bout of Books 25. Make sure you check the blog each day of the read-a-thon for instructions and details on how to complete the daily challenges**

Monday 5/13
Introduce yourself #insixwords

Books Read: 1 (Illuminae)
Pages Read: 20 pages (pages 1-20)  
Notes:  The book is a bit confusing with the unique narrative, but it's slowly growing on me.

Tuesday 5/14
Bookish favorites

Books Read: 1 (Illuminae)
Pages Read: 30 pages (pages 20-50)  
Notes:  The book is starting to get interesting now. I'm really loving Ezra and Kady so far!


Wednesday 5/15
Book plot emoji

Thursday 5/16
If this, then that

Friday 5/17
Favorite hero/favorite villain

Saturday 5/18
Share the love

Sunday 5/19
Stretch goal



I haven't been reading much this time around because I was preparing for my cousin's baby shower that week and I didn't have time to read any books.  Luckily though, "Illuminae" is proving to be a quick read since I made it to 50 pages, which is awesome!

Friday, May 17, 2019

Book Blogger Hop #52: May 17th - May 23rd




Hello everyone! I'm participating in another book meme called the Book Blogger Hop which is hosted by Ramblings of a Coffee Addicted Writer!  Basically, you just answer weekly questions and then post up your link on the question's page.


This week's question is : 

 This week's question is submitted by Nicki @ Nicki J. Markus/Asta Idonea.




I would probably like to interview Neil Gaiman!  I always loved his books and I would like to know where he got his inspirations for his works and what are some of his favorite books that he wrote!




Wednesday, May 15, 2019

Waiting on Wednesday #133: The Kingdom by Jess Rothenberg




Hello everyone! "Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, that is hosted by Breaking the Spine and the purpose of this event is that we spotlight upcoming releases of books that we are excited for!  This will also tie into Wishful Ending's Can't Wait Wednesday post!







This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:






Title:  The Kingdom
Author:  Jess Rothenberg
Expected Publication Date:  May 28th, 2019



Welcome to the Kingdom... where 'Happily Ever After' isn't just a promise, but a rule. 

Glimmering like a jewel behind its gateway, The Kingdom(TM) is an immersive fantasy theme park where guests soar on virtual dragons, castles loom like giants, and bioengineered species--formerly extinct--roam free.

Ana is one of seven Fantasists, beautiful "princesses" engineered to make dreams come true. When she meets park employee Owen, Ana begins to experience emotions beyond her programming including, for the first time... love.

But the fairytale becomes a nightmare when Ana is accused of murdering Owen, igniting the trial of the century. Through courtroom testimony, interviews, and Ana's memories of Owen, emerges a tale of love, lies, and cruelty--and what it truly means to be human.
 
Oooh! I love stories about robots trying to discover what true love is all about!  Sounds interesting!


So, what upcoming books are you looking forward to?  Please respond below!








Sunday, May 12, 2019

Book Photo Sundays #106: May 12, 2019



Hello everyone! Welcome to "Book Photo Sundays" where you get the chance to showcase photos of your books, bookshelves and book conventions you have gone to!  The goal of this book meme is to basically just post up a photo of the various books you have read or your book hauls on your blog and link back here so that way everyone can check out your wonderful book photos!  You can get your book photos through your Instagram, Tumblr, Twitter, Iphone or any other account where you can get your photos!





#bookphotosundays




So let's get started!

Also, this will be tied into the May Book Photo Sundays Bookstagram Challenge over at Instagram, so please feel free to check it out!






Hello everyone!  Welcome to another Book Photo Sundays! Sorry it's been so long since I last did a Book Photo Sundays post.  Anyway, I got two photos of book series that I really enjoyed and that included the Caraval series and the Harry Potter illustrated editions!











You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!
Click here to enter

The Sunday Post Meme (170)




Hey everybody! I am participating in a book meme called the Sunday Post which is being hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer!The goal of this meme is to share news you have  on various books and things you’ve read or received and also talk about what is coming up for your blog! Book hauls can include library books, yard sale finds, arcs and bought books and you can share these finds with other book bloggers!


Hey everyone!   HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY EVERYONE!!!  So, what are you planning on doing with your moms on Mother's Day? Me and my family are planning on eating out at Miyo's for the day, which is awesome since I love Miyo's!  Hope everyone has a wonderful Mother's Day!




Book Reviews
Miscellaneous


  

Book Photo Sundays Meme!

 

Looking for New Guest Posts! 

 

My TBR List!

 

  

Comic Book Bingo Challenge 2018 Sign Up! 



Cover Spotlight Meme






2018 Caldecott Medal Challenge Sign Up!



 







One Word: MOTHER!!!







(VIDEO)

* I had decided to rewatch an old favorite movie of mine and even though I cringed at a few parts in this movie (mostly dealing with the many 90s cliches), I still enjoyed this movie to this very day!




(HULU)

* Finally! The third season of this show has been dubbed and I got the chance to finally watch part of the third season of this show!  The episodes are just as exciting as the first and second seasons and I can't wait to see where the characters are going at this point!





 

What are you planning for Mother's Day?



  Check out Paper Fury's review on AURORA RISING BY AMIE KAUFMAN AND JAY KRISTOFF (FT. HERO SQUAD THE WORLD DOESN’T DESERVE! UH AND DOESN’T…WANT EITHER.)


☆ Check out Feed Your Fiction's Addiction's post on “Other Stuff” I Like Reading About on Your Book Blog. Let’s Discuss.

★ Check out Happy Indulgence's review on DESCENDANT OF THE CRANE REVIEW: A THOUGHTFUL, FANTASTICAL READ




Well, that's the Sunday News for today and I will have more news for the various books I've read in the near future!



Posted on Sunday, May 12, 2019.